Monday, May 02, 2011

Izagirre gambles in Asturias finale

Gorka Izgirre put on another attacking display in the Vuelta a Asturias' fifth and final stage earlier today. Lying 11th overall at just 4:40 down going into the stage, the older of the Izagirre brothers went clear with Shalunov and Infantino early on in search of what would have been a richly-deserved stage-win. The pack didn't give the trio much leeway though as Izagirre was relatively close on GC, so it was never likely to work out. He did his utmost though by leaving his breakaway companions for dead on the approach to the dreaded Naranco climb, but was reeled in by the group of favourites some eight kilometres from the top. He eventually finished 45th on the stage, 4:28 in arrears, and thus dropped to 15th overall. Rubén Pérez once again impressed in the high mountains by taking 25th place at just 1:50, and ended up 21st on GC - not bad for a sprinter! Urtasun struggled to cope with the numerous climbs littered across the route today and came home 66th at 8:17, but he'll be more worried about the fact that he lost the Metas Volantes competition he'd been leading for a few days on the very last day to Shalunov. Overall he placed 60th. Daniel Sesma didn't complete the stage, leaving only the aforementioned trio to finish the 2011 edition of the Vuelta a Asturias. DS at the event, Galdeano himself, deemed himself "satisfied" with the race, highlighting the fact that the team's been in virtually every move and have been fighting for stage wins throughout.

Víctor Cabedo, winner yesterday, was once again Orbea's best card, placing 21st on the stage 1:42 adrift of winner Zaballa. Bagües had a good day out and finished 32nd at 3:02, whilst Ricardo García is unlikely to be particularly happy with his 41st place finish. Bizkarra and Zabalo came in side by side in 50th and 51st, both at 7:37, while Martín and Sáez joined Urtasun in the gruppetto. Final GC for the Orbea riders:

  • 29, Ricardo García
  • 43, Adrián Sáez
  • 49, Víctor Cabedo
  • 64, Aritz Bagües
  • 67, Mikel Bizkarra
  • 69, Xabier Zabalo
  • 75, Noel Martín

No comments:


web site counter
ISP Internet Providers