Saturday, January 14, 2012

Hernández strikes back

After a dismal run of it at last weekend's national champs, Aitor Hernández returned to the top step of the podium in today's race in Berriz.

The Orbea rider bested team-mate Rubén Ruzafa by a comfortable 40 seconds to claim his fifth success of the season. Last year's victor, José Antonio Díez Arriola, completed the podium. Aketza Peña, highly favoured after a strong fourth in Gandía, crashed out of the race.

Iñigo Gómez unsurprisingly took out the sub-23 classification, while Eneko Corrales once again displayed his potential by triumphing among the juniors. Naia Alzola and Eider Merino took out the women's elite and junior crowns respectively.

Also present at the race today, although not in a racing capacity, were friends and former team-mates at Euskaltel, Koldo Fernández and Beñat Intxausti. Señor Zikliamatore, mister Iñaki Azanza, sent over the
following image of the two:

No comments:


web site counter
ISP Internet Providers