Saturday, April 13, 2013

Benito bests Alain González in Amorebieta

Caja Rural's Miguel Ángel Benito ousted Naturgas Energía rider Alain González and Federico Moreira of Reyno de Navarra to win Saturday's Torneo Lehendakari race in Amorebieta, Biscay.

The prolific 19-year-old also won the race last year, and now moves top of the Torneo Lehendakari standings courtesy of Loïc Chetout's no-show.

According to the Basque Cycling Federation, Benito got a decisive gap on his three breakaway companions González, Moreira and Quintana in the last roundabout and held them off by a handful of seconds.

González, who showed his potential by taking the team's first win of the year in 2012 in Beasain, once again showed his potent burst of speed to secure the red and whites yet another podium of what's been a most fruitful season thus far.

  • 1, Miguel Ángel Benito (Caja Rural), 2:24:22
  • 2, Alain González (Naturgas Energía), 0:05
  • 3, Federico Agustín Moreira (Reyno de Navarra), s.t.
  • 4, Dayer Quintana (Lizarte), s.t.
  • 5, Mario González (Cafés Baqué), 0:10
  • 6, Imanol Estévez (Naturgas Energía), 0:45
  • 7, Carlos Anton Jiménez (Caja Rural), s.t.
  • 8, Gotzon Udondo (Seguros Bilbao), s.t.
  • 9, Jorge Arcas (Lizarte), s.t.
  • 10, Adrián González (Opel Ibaigane), s.t.
Photo: Caja Rural

No comments:


web site counter
ISP Internet Providers