Monday, February 07, 2011

Euskaltel off-colour in Cala Millor

Euskaltel did not have the best of days in today's second leg of the Challenge Mallorca, the Trofeo Cala Millor-Cala Millor. In a nervous dash for the line, Koldo Fernández didn't take any chances and rolled in next to Freire in 23rd place. Rubén Pérez, Gorka Izagirre, Isasi, Urtasun and Velasco all finished 10 seconds down, while season-debutants Txurruka, Nieve and Antón came in half a minute adrift.

Orbea fared better, though, and placed an aggressive Adrián Sáez de Arregi in the main break. The youngster joined Movistar's Luis Pasamontes and NetApp's for the moment moustache-less American Steven Cozza for a day-long adventure. Eventhough they built up a handy lead of eight minutes at one point, the trio never stood a chance and were reeled in by the sprinters' teams. The Orbea youngster secured the 'Special Sprint'-jersey, though, so he'll no doubt be happy with his day's work. So too will Jon Aberasturi who sprinted to a strong 12th place. Zabalo, García and Peio Bilbao all came in with that big group 10 seconds back, while Cabedo, Bagües, Etxebarria and Martín formed part of Antón, Nieve and Txurruka's group. Sáez eventually finished up next to Bizkarra at a minute and a half.

The relatively mountainious 157,2km Trofeo Inca is up tomorrow, so expect to see Euskaltel's feather-wight climbers up there challenging for the win. Especially, keep an eye out for Velasco!

No comments:


web site counter
ISP Internet Providers