Sunday, December 02, 2012

Hernández continues his hot streak in Legazpi

Aitor Hernández (Orbea) continued his streak of dominance in Euskadi cyclocross with his 9th win of the year today in Legazpi. On a relatively dry course, Hernández was able to take another solo win from former Euskaltel teammate Aketza Peña and Spanish Champion Isaac Suarez (Bio-Racer/Caravanas). Javier Ruiz de Larrinaga (MMR-Spuik) was able to take the start today after finishing 2nd yesterday in Amezaga and finished up in 4th place while Josep Betalu (G-Sport) finished in 5th place.

Jonathan Lastra was able to take the win in the U23 category over a trio of Bio-Racer/Caravanas riders in the Gomez twins, Iñigo (2nd) and Jon (4th), while Kevin Suarez finished in 3rd place. Eneko Corrales was able to take a win in the junior men's race. Women's stalwart Olatz Odriozola was able to take the win in the elite women's race over Maite Murguia, who had won big yesterday in Amezaga. Lastly, Lierne Lekuona, who raced the elite women's race at the Koksijde World Cup last weekend, took the junior women's race handily.

Egoitz Murgoitio had a disappointing finish after a promising start at the Roubaix World Cup. Murgoitio was running around 20th place on the 3rd lap when he had a mechanical that forced him to abandon the race. It was yet another disappointing finish for Murgoitio, who has been looking for another good World Cup result after his 15th in Plzen.

Next week promises a showdown between a flying Hernández and Murgoitio at the Superprestigio race in Itsasondo. Murgoitio holds the lead in the Superprestigio series and will be looking to deny Hernández, who has not been able to put a foot wrong lately. Expect Javier Ruiz de Larrinaga to be a more prominent player next week while Jonathan Lastra should be able to cement his lead in the U23 classification.

Photo: Iñaki Azanza

No comments:


web site counter
ISP Internet Providers