Sunday, January 13, 2013

Aitor Hernández crowned Spanish Cyclocross Champion

In an intense, actioned-packed race, Aitor Hernández (Ermua-Orbea) was able to cap off his spectacular season by beating out Egoitz Murgoitio (Hirumet-Taldea) for the Spanish cyclocross crown.  Hernández caps off a year that saw him claim 17 victories, the Euskadi championship and the overall Superprestigio title. Rounding out the all-Basque podium was Javier Ruiz de Larrinaga (MMR-Spiuk), who nearly overtook Murgoitio in the end.

The race started off quick with Egoitz Murgoitio and Isaac Suárez (Bio-Races Caravanas) pushing the pace on the first lap. Aitor Hernández and Javier Ruiz de Larrinaga made the junction on the 2nd lap and the group of four were away. Murgoitio pushed the pace again on the next lap, breaking away and forcing Hernández to chase. Hernández was able to make the junction while Larrinaga and Suárez stayed together. Hernández subsequently pushed the pace, dropping Murgoitio on the 4th lap but the two were back together on the 5th lap. While Hernández and Murgoitio dueled up front, Larrinaga was able to drop Suárez on the 6th lap and rode a faster lap then either of the front duo. The hammer blow came for Murgoitio after a counter-attack by Hernández on the 7th lap, which instantly gapped the Hirumet-Taldea rider.

Hernández continued to ride smooth on the muddy course while Murgoitio faltered, trying desperately to keep 2nd place from a hard charging Larrinaga. Murgoitio finally regained some rhythm on the last lap and was able to hold off Larrinaga, who had to settle for 3rd place. While Murgoitio has been one of the more successful Spaniards on the European cyclocross circuit, he has yet to win the Spanish elite title in his career.

  • 1, Aitor Hernández
  • 2, Egoitz Murgoitio +17"
  • 3, Javier Ruiz de Larrinaga +20" 
  • 4, Isaac Suárez +2'00"
  • 5, Constantino Zaballa +3'08"
  • 6, Jose Antonio Diez Arriola +3'46"
  • 7, Aketza Peña +4'01"
  • 8, Agustin Navarro +4'07"
  • 9, Mauro Gonzalez +4'27"
  • 10, Julen Zubero +4'33"
  • 17, Erlantz Uriarte +8'21"
Photo: Aitor Hernández

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different web page and thought I should check things out.
I like what I see so now i am following you.
Look forward to checking out your web page yet again.
Look at my weblog ;


web site counter
ISP Internet Providers