Sunday, January 27, 2013

Euskaltel take 13 riders to Mallorca

Igor Antón headlines a big contingent of Euskaltel riders ready to tackle the Challenge Mallorca next weekend.

The team will send 13 riders to the four-day event, famous for being one of the very few races where the riders can opt in and out of the stages at their choosing. The race kicks off on Sunday the 3rd of February with the Trofeo Palma, and follows up with the Trofeo Campos-Santanyí-Ses Salines, Trofeo Serra de Tramuntana (Deià-Lluc) and the Trofeo Alcúdia-Can Picafort-Playa de Muro over the next three days.

According to the race's own homepage, these riders will line up under the guidance of director deportivo Iñaki Isasi:
  • 46 - Igor Antón
  • 47 - Mikel Astarloza
  • 48 - André Schulze
  • 49 - Gorka Izagirre
  • 50 - Gorka Verdugo
  • 51 - Jon Aberasturi
  • 52 - Juan José Oroz
  • 53 - Miguel Mínguez
  • 54 - Mikel Landa
  • 55 - Steffen Radochla
  • 56 - Adrián Sáez
  • 57 - Garikoitz Bravo
  • 58 - Robert Vrecer
The race will thus mark Schulze, Radochla and Vrecer's debuts in the orange jersey, while Verdugo, Mínguez and Landa will make their first competitive appearances of the year. Sáez will pin on a bib number for the first time this season later today at the GP Marseillaise, while the rest of the riders all competed at the Tour Down Under.

The race on Mallorca will see a host of big-name riders take part, among them Bradley Wiggins, Christopher Froome, Sergio Henao, Rigoberto Urán, André Greipel, Jurgen van den Broeck, Tony Martin, Alejandro Valverde, Roberto Gesink, Luis León Sánchez, Rui Costa, Alessandro Petacchi, Tyler Farrar, Damiano Cunego and Filippo Pozzato, to name but a few. 

If you still haven't met all the riders who make up Euskaltel's 2013 roster, watch the team's video below:

Photo: Euskaltel Euskadi

No comments:


web site counter
ISP Internet Providers