Sunday, January 06, 2013

Hernández nabs national champs tune-up

Aitor Hernández showed he'll be the man to beat in next weekend's national championships by taking out his 16th win of a sensational campaign over the exact same course that will be tackled in a week's time in Sunday's race in Navia, Asturias.

Hernández once again proved too fast for Javier Ruiz de Larrinaga in the dash for the line - relegating the MMR-Spiuk rider to the second step on the podium for the fourth consecutive time. Larrinaga attacked the seemingly invincible Orbea rider on the last lap, but couldn't pull off the win. Reigning national champ Isaac Suárez grabbed third.

"It was a spectacular circuit, very intense", Hernández told the Spanish Cycling Federation's website post-race. "I'm very happy with how I felt today".

  1. Aitor Hernández (Ermua-Orbea)
  2. Javier Ruiz de Larrinaga (MMR-Spiuk)
  3. Isaac Suárez (Bio Racer - Caravanas Erandio)
  4. Erlantz Uriarte (Ibaigane Opel)
  5. Mauro González (Salvaterra de Miño)
Among the women, local riders Roció Gamonal, Aida Nuño and Lucía González finished on the podium in that order, while Eneko Corrales and Alicia González won their respective junior categories.

Photo: Iñaki Azanza

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

I take pleasure in, lead to I found just what I used to be having a
look for. You've ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

Also visit my web site - How to TALK to girls


web site counter
ISP Internet Providers