Tuesday, November 09, 2010

Orbea reveal 2011 team

La Fundación Euskadi's Continental team, Orbea, today revealed the 13 riders that will make up 2011's roster. As reported some weeks back, Mikel Ilundain has not been retained, and Jon Izagirre and Mikel Landa has joined Euskaltel. Those three are the only ones leaving the team, while the arrivals of young climber Pello Bilbao and Bidelan all-rounder Aritz Bagües are already well documented. Joining Bilbao from Naturgas will be the one 21-year-old Mikel Bizkarra, who's shown plenty of promise this season, and stand-out Seguros Bilbao rider Victor Cabedo. Bizkarra joining the team was not really surprising, but Cabedo jumping ships from Seguros to Orbea was most definetely so, to me anyway. The 21-year-old, who rates a certain Samu Sánchez as his favourite rider, is one of the most promising riders in the Spanish peloton. Cabedo won the prestigious Memorial Valenciaga this spring, and even won the sub-23 Copa de Espana classification. Interestingly, he's also a national junior champion in cyclo-cross and has taken several medals on the track. Quite rightly he describes himself as a complete rider given that he's excelling on the climbs and in the time trials. He's also had a taste of riding at the highest level already, as he took part in the Vuelta a Murcia this year in the colours of the Spanish selección. He's one for the future, make no mistake, so don't be surprised if he teams up with Samu, Antón, Sicard and co. already come the 2012 season. Nine riders, namely Joseba Larralde, Aritz Etxebarria, Ricardo García, Xabier Zabalo, Beñat Urain, Noel Martín, Adrián Sáez de Arregi, Jon Aberasturi and Andoni Blázquez will stay on for another year. Look out for Noel Martín and Jon Aberasturi in particular. Both born in 1989, they'll hope to make an impression next year and turn it up a notch or two.

No comments:


web site counter
ISP Internet Providers