Sunday, October 21, 2012

Larrinaga continues hot streak

Javier Ruís de Larrinaga continued his rich vein of form by besting a high-level field of cyclo-crossers in Saturday's race in Medina de Pomar, Burgos.

The Amezaga-born soon-to-be 33-year-old attacked the lead group on the third lap, and held of Orbea's ever-consistent Aitor Hernández by 14 seconds and reigning national champ Isaac Suárez by a further 20 seconds. Himself a three-time Spanish champion, it was Larrinaga's second win in a week after last week's triumph in Llanes.

Though Spain's top senior, Egoitz Murgoitio, and sub-23, Jonathan Lastra, weren't present as they're set to line up in tomorrow's World Cup in Tabor, the Czech Republic, the line-up was still a healthy one by all accounts.

Iñigo Gómez was fifth and thus sub-23 champ, former controversial roadie and Clásica a San Sebastián champ Tino Zaballa was sixth, veteran road rider Josep Betalú was 12th, erstwhile Euskaltel rider Aketza Peña was 13th, while likeable former Cervélo rider Óscar Pujol, somehow out of a job, came in 20th as he continues to keep his shape reasonably good in the hope of a team coming in for him.

Results, elite & sub-23:
  1. Javier Ruís de Larrinaga (MMR Spiuk), 1:06:46
  2. Aitor Hernández (Orbea), 0:14
  3. Isaac Suárez (BioRace - Caravanas Erandio), 0:34
  4. José Antonio Díez Arriola (Tus Bicis Maglia Sport), 0:48
  5. Iñigo Gómez (BioRace - Caravanas Erandio), 0:52 - 1st sub-23 rider
  1. Rocío Gamonal (Orbea), 51:48
  2. Olatz Odriozola, 1:18
  3. Aida Nuño, 2:33
  1. Diego Pablo Sevilla
  2. Alexander Aramburu
  3. Víctor Aguado
For more elaborate results, check out BiciCiclismo at this link.


No comments:


web site counter
ISP Internet Providers