Friday, August 03, 2012

Antón to lead San Sebastián charge

Igor Antón will conclude his Vuelta a España participation by leading the team in the most prestigious of one-dayers in the Basque Country, the Clásica San Sebastián.

The start list was released by the organizers today, and the following seven Euskaltel riders will join Antón in the hunt for what would be a maiden win on Donostia's la Concha: Gorka Izagirre, Amets Txurruka, Iván Velasco, Juan José Oroz, Romain Sicard, Mikel Landa and Gorka Verdugo.

Among other big-name riders to look out for will be Vinokourov, Urán, Henao, Moser, Rodríguez, Kolobnev, Chavanel, Van Avermaet, Zubeldia, Gerrans, Davis, Van den Broeck, Vanendert, Intxausti, Valverde, Cobo, Rojas, Cunego, Luis León Sánchez, Mollema, Gesink, Hoogerland, Roche and Casar. And Alberto Contador. To name but a few. Check out the full overview here.


Anonymous said...

looks like a strong field think its time igor started to deliver a bit more for the team

Nick said...

Is this going to be Vinokouorovs last race? I thought he was gonna exit after his olympic triumph

Magnus said...

He was, but he keeps postponing it. Wouldn't be surprised to see him race next year!

As for Antón, he definitely should start to come up with some results, he's not performing nearly as well as his talent deserves. Afraid the San Sebastián course won't suit him though.


web site counter
ISP Internet Providers