Thursday, June 20, 2013

Euskaltel's national champs line-ups

Not surprisingly, Euskaltel have never had a better opportunity to claim a national championship jersey than this year.

This weekend will see Euskaltel riders line up in five different national champs, hoping to become the successor to Iñigo González de Heredia - the first, and as of yet only, Euskaltel rider to be crowned champion of his country.

That happened way back in 1996, when he bested the not too unfamiliar Álvaro González de Galdeano in the time trial.

Here's the overview of who'll ride where this weekend, courtesy of the team's official website.

Note that both leaders for the Tour de France, Igor Antón and Mikel Nieve, will be in action in Sunday's road race.

Included in the overview are the riders from Equipo Euskadi.

Spain, time trial: Mikel Astarloza, Ion Izagirre, Adrián Sáez, Illart Zuazubiskar, Igor Merino, Jon Larrinaga.

Spain, road race: Igor Antón, Peio Bilbao, Gorka Izagirre, Mikel Nieve, Pablo Urtasun, Rubén Pérez, Juan José Lobato, Juan José Oroz, Gorka Verdugo, Garikoitz Bravo, Ricardo García, Jon Aberasturi, Miguel Mínguez, Mikel Iturria, Aritz Bagües, Haritz Orbe, Carlos Barbero, Mikel Bizkarra, Unai Iparraguirre.

France, road race: Romain Sicard.

Slovenia, road race: Robert Vrecer.

Germany, road race: Steffen Radochla.

Greek, road race and time trial: Ioannis Tamouridis.

Photo: BCPT


azanca02 said...

Vrecer is on good form right now.

Magnus said...

Yeah, looks to be going really strong. Too bad the nat. champ. time trial was while he was in Switzerland!


web site counter
ISP Internet Providers