Sunday, June 30, 2013

Pérez and Izagirre keep up appearances

Two of the most aggressive riders in recent Tour de France history once again animated the racing in the race's second stage on Sunday.

Rubén Pérez - twice the rider to have accumulated the most kilometres off the front in the race in previous editions - and Gorka Izagirre both took over the mantle from yesterday's escapee and today's king of the mountains, Juan José Lobato.

Pérez got into the day's main break but could do little to stop Lobato losing his polkadots to, first, Lars Boom, and then Pierre Rolland.

The four-man break he was a part of was reeled in only halfway through, though, setting the stage for an aggressive final 70 clicks of the 156km stage from Bastia to Ajaccio.

The oldest of the Izagirre brothers got in on the attack in the finale, forming part of eventual winner Jan Bakelants six-man move. He didn't make it, Gorka, but he's a dead-cert for a few more attempts later on in the race.

Euskaltel's three main men, Ion Izagirre, Igor Antón and Mikel Nieve, all made it in with the pack, while Juan José Oroz and debutant Romain Sicard both found the going tougher, going on to cede 12 and 17 minutes respectively.

  • (1, Jan Bakelants (RadioShack-Leopard), 3:43:11)
  • 17, Ion Izagirre, 0:01
  • 32, Mikel Astarloza, s.t.
  • 46, Igor Antón, s.t.
  • 55, Gorka Izagirre, s.t.
  • 57, Mikel Nieve, s.t.
  • 139, Juan José Oroz, 12:44
  • 153, Juan José Lobato, 17:35
  • 154, Romain Sicard, s.t.
  • 166, Rubén Pérez, s.t.
Photo. BCPT

No comments:


web site counter
ISP Internet Providers